Mission and Governance

Frith LibraryCarlisle School is an independent college preparatory school that provides a positive, safe environment for academic excellence and character development while embracing diversity and preparing our students to become leaders as citizens in a global society.

At Carlisle School, developing leaders and giving them the tools to excel and succeed are our primary goals. Beginning at age 2 our students are encouraged and equipped to cultivate a strong inner confidence, in a safe and nurturing environment. We celebrate the uniqueness of every student. Our curriculum and instructional practices are designed to meet students’ individual physical, social, emotional, spiritual and intellectual needs.

As we prepare our students for higher education, we are also preparing them for life. Academically strong programs provide a forum of inquiry and opportunities for the development of critical thinking and reasoning skills. These are balanced by school-wide practices that encourage diversity and foster personal integrity, mutual respect, and development of self-esteem.

View our strategic plan.

Board of Trustees
The Carlisle School Board of Trustees is the governing body of the school. The primary role and focus of the Board is to determine Carlisle School’s mission, vision, strategic goals and policy. The Board of Trustees look to the future, and hold the School “in trust” with a strategic vision that always supports the mission of the school, and promotes growth and long-term prosperity for the benefit of future generations.

The day-to-day operation and management of the School is handled by the headmaster and school administration.

Current Members
President – Mr. Eric Monday, Esquire
Vice President -Mr. Jay Edelen
Secretary – Mrs. Mary Lewis Johnston ’76
Treasurer – Mr. William Vaughn ’96
Head of School – Mr. Thomas Hudgins, Jr., ex-officio
Immediate Past President – Dr. Paul Erwin
Former President – Mrs. Virginia Hamlet ’81
Former President – Mr. William Pannill

Dr. Joe Carbone
Mr. Gene Clark
Mr. Jay Edelen
Mrs. Cindy Edgerton
Mr. Phil Garrett
Mr. Greg Haymore
Mr. Kevin Keys
Mrs. Anna McClain ’96

Mrs. Alana Mitchell
Mr. Brian Nichols ’92
Dr. Mukesh Nigam
Mrs. Michelle Szczesniewski
Mrs. Tracy Tate
Mrs. Mary Taylor ’76
Mr. Jack Thomson
Dr. Pat Wallace